if i had more courage

moon-super-moon-space-science-52971

i loved you when we were young

your iridescent smile was my moon

i’ve always carried the shape of your eyes with me

in a velvet pocket in my heart

and your hair curled around your face

and my hair curled around mine

this is what soulmates must look like, i thought

as i wrote your name in a book each night

many years passed till we met again, and

your face was still my moon

i trembled under your every gaze

your eyes had grown more beautiful

but a sadness seemed to follow you

your shoulders looked so heavy

i listened all the while you talked

thinking how far you’ve wandered from yourself

if i had more courage that night

i would have held your hand in mine

and opened my chest so you could see

the velvet pocket in my heart

One thought on “if i had more courage

Leave a Reply

